Menu
Melehy & Associates LLC
Serving Maryland and Washington, D.C., for more than 20 years
Call 301-587-6364

Silver Spring Maryland Legal Blog

When is an employer required to pay overtime?

Everybody wants to be fairly compensated for work time, and the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) is a federal law that governs overtime. Maryland and the District of Columbia have state overtime laws the provide the same or greater protections for you.

Employers covered by the overtime laws are required to provide additional compensation to employees that spend extra time on the clock. You are due one and a half times your regular hourly wage for each hour over 40 worked in a 7-day period. For example, if you make minimum wage of $9.25 per hour, you must be paid $13.87 for each hour over 40 that you work in the 7-day period, unless you are exempt.

Three myths about wage theft

Wage theft is a widespread problem engulfing numerous industries. But how do you know what's true about the issue and what's being spread as a deterrent by employers to prevent you from filing a lost wage claim? Here are some common myths that will give you a better idea of what you can do about possible lost wages:

Myth No. 1: It only occurs in certain industries

What should go into my Maryland parenting plan?

If you’re going through a divorce in Maryland, you’ve probably heard the term “parenting plan,” and you may be wondering what it entails. Today we examine some basic components you should consider when drafting a parenting plan:

What is a parenting plan?